Skip to Content

Change or reset your phrase

Change your phrase

If you think someone has seen your phrase, create a new one from a phone that can already read your history. Go to Account › Recovery phrase and change it. Your old phrase stops working. Your history isn't affected.

If you haven't signed in within the last 30 minutes, you'll be asked to sign in again first.

Reset a lost phrase

If you've lost your phrase and none of your phones can read your history any more, you can reset it. On a new phone, tap I've lost my phrase, I don't have another device or Start fresh on the setup screen. On a phone that's already set up:

  1. Go to Account › Recovery phrase and choose to reset it.
  2. Type RESET to confirm.
  3. If your server sends email, enter the code we email you.
  4. Write down your new phrase.

Your old phrase stops working. History from before the reset can't be recovered, except what the phone you reset on can still read with its own keys. Your other phones will need the new phrase. When you reset during setup, you're then asked to remove any devices you no longer have.

If your server sends email, we email you after your phrase is changed or reset.

On this page